top of page
  • 100th Anniversary commemorative since the establishment of the House of Windsor

  • A stunning significant coin depicting the side portraits of the 4 House of Windsor monarchs over the past 100 years.

  • 155.5 grams of 999 Silver, with an inlaid of gold and beautifully coloured enamel accents

  • Buckingham Palace approved collectable coin.​

House of Windsor -

100th Anniversary

El Cazador Shipwreck Coin
Click To Zoom



In March 1917, German bombing began in London and a fear of the abolishment of Europe’s royal houses emerged. This fear was sparked by the forced abdication of King George V’s cousin, Tsar Nicholas II, Emperor of Russia, and the public’s growing dislike of the Royal Family name, Saxe-Coburg- Gotha. 

In response to this trepidation, King George V and his family decided to relinquish the use of their German titles, and adopt a new name for his royal house. As the name “Windsor” had a long association with monarchy in Britain, and with Windsor Castle being the ancestral home of the British monarchy for over 1,000 years, the title “The House of Windsor” was born.

King George V (1865 – 1936) established the House of Windsor by royal proclamation on 17th July 1917:

“Now, therefore, We, out of Our Royal Will and Authority, do hereby declare and announce that as from the date of this Our Royal Proclamation Our House and Family shall be styled and known as the House and Family of Windsor, and that all the descendants in the male line of Our said Grandmother Queen Victoria who are subjects of these Realms, other than female descendants who may marry or may have married, shall bear the said Name of Windsor.”

In 1938, King George VI approved the official badge of the House of Windsor. It features the Round Tower of Windsor Castle, from which her Majesty’s standard flies when she is in residence.

When Princess Elizabeth became Queen in February 1952, Earl Mountbatten advocated that she change the name of her royal house to House of Mountbatten; as it was standard practice for the wife to adopt her husband’s surname in marriage. When Elizabeth’s grandmother, Queen Mary, heard of this suggestion, she informed British Prime Minister, Winston Churchill. Upon his advisement, Queen Elizabeth II issued a royal proclamation declaring that the royal house was to remain known as the House of Windsor, on April 9, 1952.

“Will and Pleasure that I and My children shall be styled and known as the House and Family of Windsor, and that my descendants who marry and their descendants, shall bear the name of Windsor.” 

The accompanying Silver  Five Crowns features the portraits of all four House of Windsor monarchs to date: King George V, King Edward VIII, King George VI and Queen Elizabeth II. Motifs inspired by the Royal Standard and representing the four nations of the UK encircle the portraits, accented with coloured enamel in each quadrant.

100 of these once in a century coins It was minted on the actual anniversary date. So with a total mintage of just 199 worldwide, to secure one of these for you much contact us now.

bottom of page